What is the difference between team member roles?

When setting up your course, there are several permission levels you can assign your team:

  • Instructor: Has access to all features.
  • Facilitator: Has access to all features in assessments, but limited access to the course.
  • Grader: Can grade assessments and see grading progress. Does not have access to any identifiable student information (including cover pages), evaluations left by others (unless enabled), or assessment administration. Note: Ready to grade assessments do not require separate cover pages, and do not guarantee student anonymity.
  • Printer-Uploader: Only has access to the Uploads page of assessments, which includes an upload area as well as a button to download the printable PDF of blank assessments.

A user with Instructor permissions can change team roles at any time. If you are a team member and you don’t have access to features or functions you require, contact your lead instructor.

Role permissions

Course permissions

Task Instructor Facilitator Grader Printer-Uploader
Access Students section ✔ ✘ ✘ ✘
Access Team section ✔ ✘ ✘ ✘
Create assessments ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Delete course ✔ ✘ ✘ ✘

Assessment permissions

Task Instructor Facilitator Grader Printer-Uploader
Download blank assessments ✔ ✔ ✘ ✔
Upload scanned assessments ✔ ✔ ✘ ✔
Match booklets to students ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Access Students section ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Access Team section ✔ ✔ ✔ ✘
Include/exclude students ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Include/exclude team members ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Grade student work ✔ ✔ ✔ ✘
View/clone other graders’ evaluations ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Set the primary evaluation ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
“Go to” a specific student while grading ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Access Questions section ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Access Results section ✔ ✔ ✔ ✘
Return grades to students ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Change assessment settings ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘
Lock assessment ✔ ✘ ✘ ✘
Delete assessment ✔ ✔ ✘ ✘

In this article

Can't find the answer to your question?